Shahid Kapoor and Sridevi Take Early Lead in PETA’s ‘Hottest Vegetarian Celebrity’ Contest

For Immediate Release:
12 December 2017

Shambhavi Tiwari; [email protected]

Nirali Gada; [email protected]

Fans Can Help PETA Decide the Winners by Voting for Their Favourite Vegetarian Vixen and Meat-Ditching Man at

Mumbai – Ever since the nominees were posted for People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals’ (PETA) Hottest Vegetarian Celebrity 2017 contest, Sridevi and Padmavati star Shahid Kapoor have been raking in the votes. But hot on their heels are Alia Bhatt, Jacqueline Fernandez, Vidyut Jammwal, Sonam Kapoor, R Madhavan, Rajkummar Rao, and Anushka Sharma.

According to her trainer, the gorgeous Sridevi maintains her ageless figure by doing yoga and eating vegetarian.

Shahid Kapoor says, “I love chicks … pigs, cows, fish, and all the other animals, too. That’s why I turned vegetarian.”

“These hot stars prove that vegetarian eating is not only kind to animals but also great for the body,” says PETA Associate Director of Celebrity and Public Relations Sachin Bangera. “There’s nothing sexier than a fit body and a kind heart-stars swear by it!”

As shown in PETA’s “Glass Walls” video exposé, which is narrated by R Madhavan, at slaughterhouses, chickens’ throats are cut while they’re still conscious and pigs scream as they’re stabbed in the heart. Cows are crammed into vehicles so tightly that their bones break as they’re hauled off to slaughterhouses, where many are dismembered while they’re still alive. On the decks of fishing boats, fish panic as they slowly suffocate or are cut open while they’re still conscious.

As noted by PETA – whose motto reads, in part, that “animals are not ours to eat” – the United Nations concluded that raising animals for food is “one of the top two or three most significant contributors to the most serious environmental problems, at every scale from local to global” and that a global shift towards vegan eating is necessary to combat the worst effects of climate change.

PETA will announce the winners – who will be selected based on several factors, including vote count – on 18 December. For full contest details and to cast your vote, please visit